Announcement

After 5 years serving the vintage Apple enthusiast community, ThinkClassic has been marked for closure and is now in caretaker mode. Please see this thread for further information. Please direct any questions, comments and enquiries about the website, management and ownership to this thread.

You are not logged in.

#126 2015-08-29 15:02:36

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 855

Re: LCGuy's money pit *ahem* collection

Yep - they require a driver, typically a control panel that allows you to change settings on the joystick.

Offline

#127 2015-09-10 06:34:12

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 855

Re: LCGuy's money pit *ahem* collection

Memories of my childhood are flooding back...

E2K1ibZ.jpg?1

O0HgwRY.jpg

Also, something I've been owing the community for years now...I had a copy of this before however it was lost to time, and a couple of moves...I once again have it....

mRDc4uK.jpg?1

I'll do a proper scan of both sides of the TopHat datasheet later on.

Not pictured are the driver disks, which it came with, along with a copy of a flight sim I'd never heard of before, Eco Defense.

Offline

#128 2015-09-14 06:03:24

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 855

Re: LCGuy's money pit *ahem* collection

And I've since won, finally, another one of my "Holy Grail" items. One that I've come close to getting a few times over the years, but that has always slipped away.

The Apple Techstep.

I may or may not have paid too much for it...or maybe market value...I don't know. All I know is that the crap exchange rate between the US dollar and the Aussie dollar screwed me badly. But....whats exceptionally neat is that this one includes the CPU Tests Vol 4 v1.0 ROM pack - the one for the LCIII, LC520, Colour Classic, Performa 250, Performa 450 and Performa 520. Which I've never even seen a photo of before, and have never seen included in any of the TechSteps I've seen for sale before. Awesome.

Offline

#129 2015-09-14 15:50:02

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,470

Re: LCGuy's money pit *ahem* collection

Sweet! big_smile  By definition: no matter the theoretical "price" bandied about so casually elsewhere may be, what you pay is what it's worth.

Offline

#130 2015-09-14 17:37:00

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: LCGuy's money pit *ahem* collection

Woo!  Everyone loves a techstep!
If you've got a ROM reader, crack open that Volume 4 cart and read the EPROM.  The cartridges aren't really sealed, they've got 3 support posts that press into receivers, so you can gently separate the top without damaging anything.
The ROM its self is a PLCC chip, so you'll want to make sure you have a way to read those before bothering to open it up.

Offline

#131 2015-09-14 23:32:25

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 855

Re: LCGuy's money pit *ahem* collection

Thanks guys. Unfortunately I don't have a ROM reader at the moment.

Offline

#132 2015-09-22 09:05:25

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 855

Re: LCGuy's money pit *ahem* collection

Aaaaand, here it is...made from pure unicorn jizz and all:

M2oDdS5.jpg?1

I've wanted one for 13 years. And I finally have one. I've come close to getting one a couple of times...but they've always slipped away. I even borrowed one a couple of times when I was doing work experience at an AppleCentre in 2002 at high school. But, now I have one thats all mine. And its awesome. smile

I'll take better, proper pics this weekend, but for now I'll leave y'all with this as a tease:

vMaI8js.jpg

CPU Tests Vol. 4 v1.0 ROM pack, made from pure unobtanium. Never even seen a picture of one, or seen a TechStep being sold with one.

Offline

#133 2015-09-22 14:55:55

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: LCGuy's money pit *ahem* collection

Congrats!  Did yours come with the manuals to match each rom pack?  Mine came with rom packs 1, 2, 3, and SCSI HD tests, but only manuals for 2 and 3.

Offline

#134 2015-09-22 21:09:45

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 855

Re: LCGuy's money pit *ahem* collection

Mine came with ROM packs 1, 2, 3, 4 and SCSI HD tests, but only the manual for 3. I'm guessing the rest of the manuals are probably harder to find than the TechStep itself. smile

Offline

#135 2015-10-17 23:19:15

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 855

Re: LCGuy's money pit *ahem* collection

So this came in the mail recently:

hWgLhTl.jpg

Its an ADB trackpad, and it has a loooong cable and is nice for doing stuff on one of my classic Macs when I'm at my PC and can't be bothered wheeling myself over to the retrotable.

Offline

#136 2015-10-18 00:36:12

Eudimorphodon
Member
Registered: 2014-09-02
Posts: 525

Re: LCGuy's money pit *ahem* collection

Huh. In one of my junk boxes I have one just like that with a 9 pin serial plug. Does the Mac version require special drivers? I vaguely recall discovering that there weren't functional Linux drivers for the serial one because it used a proprietary communications protocol and only emulated a mouse at the DOS/Windows device driver level.


Flap Different.

Offline

#137 2015-10-18 02:37:27

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: LCGuy's money pit *ahem* collection

Nice!  AFAIK, the ADB one shouldn't require drivers for basic functionality, although it's possible they provided some to do some enhanced features.  I don't know about this device in particular, but usually devices like this that were sold for both ADB for Mac and serial for PC, were serial internally, and the ADB version had a cheap controller to convert it to ADB.  With the wacom tablets, some folks were tapping the serial before it went to the ADB converter, and then hooking that up to USB to serial dongles, and just using the wacom serial drivers that way.
I've always thought one of these would be a good alternative to a mouse for these old machines in some cases, just by virtue of using less desk space.

Offline

#138 2015-10-18 05:30:23

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 855

Re: LCGuy's money pit *ahem* collection

This one doesn't - it seems to just be recognised as an ADB mouse. The left button is your normal mouse click, and the right mouse button is click lock.

Thats really interesting re: some having an internal ADB - serial converter. I just opened mine up - I get the idea that mine may have the same sort of setup. Pics:

6dGiuKb.jpg

J9Bfz6U.jpg

When I took the back cover off it I noticed it has another internal back cover, with the little board underneath that the ADB cable connects to - would be interesting to know if it is actually an ADB - serial converter.

Offline

#139 2015-10-18 22:36:30

Eudimorphodon
Member
Registered: 2014-09-02
Posts: 525

Re: LCGuy's money pit *ahem* collection

Interesting. If I happen to stumble across the serial one I have (assuming I didn't toss it) I'll try to remember to crack it open and see if it's identical sans add-on ADB board.


Flap Different.

Offline

#140 2015-10-24 07:05:08

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 855

Re: LCGuy's money pit *ahem* collection

Another couple of aquistions - an ADB Gamepad and finally, something to fill my SE/30's PDS slot - a Radius Pivot card. I believe that this will output colour video, which will be nice:

u3LSbDE.jpg

MEshtLh.jpg

Offline

#141 2015-10-24 13:43:27

macdrone
Member
From: Rainier, Or
Registered: 2014-05-25
Posts: 246

Re: LCGuy's money pit *ahem* collection

I have 2 radiusware disks here if you want I could image them and email them to you?  They have different version numbers on the disks just pm me a good email and Ill use my old color classic to get the job done.

Offline

#142 2015-10-25 05:42:44

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 855

Re: LCGuy's money pit *ahem* collection

Any idea as to whether they have anything specific for the SE/30 or IIsi? I've tried RadiusWare 3.3, courtesy of Gamba but that version only appears to work with NuBus cards.

Offline

#143 2015-10-26 02:55:43

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,470

Re: LCGuy's money pit *ahem* collection

I don't think I've ever installed any version of RadiusWare for any of my many Radius VidCards EVER! They've all worked just fine in every resolution (running off VGA adapted MultiSync CRTs) I've ever tried. I must be the only one  .  .  .

.  .  .  ooh  .  .  .  they've all driven my motley collection of Radius/KDS LCDs like a charm as well. hmm



edit: patiently awaiting above mentioned scans. This is the first time I've seen a mfr. mention inability to run cards simultaneously in the LC.

Last edited by jt (2015-10-26 02:58:32)

Offline

#144 2015-10-26 07:53:32

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 855

Re: LCGuy's money pit *ahem* collection

They're in this thread. smile Thats all there is - there's no other pages on it.

Offline

#145 2015-10-26 13:43:38

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,470

Re: LCGuy's money pit *ahem* collection

HRM??? AFAIK, you only posted the pic of the topside of the features page about Top-Hat above, the flip side and close scrutiny await proper scans. neutral

Offline

#146 2015-10-31 06:26:45

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 855

Re: LCGuy's money pit *ahem* collection

There's only the single, double-sided page, both pics are in that thread, but I'll also post them here:

BFiMldh.jpg

8qhYm9P.jpg

Offline

#147 2015-10-31 13:04:58

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,470

Re: LCGuy's money pit *ahem* collection

Aha! Yesterday I found "this" thread you'd posted in peripherals, where it belonged. Didn't catch the link here, I thought you'd meant this particular thread, oopsie! roll

VERY cool stuff.



p.s. can we use a blue that has more contrast with standard black text to designate links or is it a fixed function of the forums software? I habitually use several words for a link for this reason. Has anyone else noticed it  .  .  .  or is it just my eyes? hmm

Last edited by jt (2015-10-31 13:17:31)

Offline

#148 2015-10-31 15:25:49

bbraun
Member
Registered: 2014-05-29
Posts: 1,064
Website

Re: LCGuy's money pit *ahem* collection

At some point, I'd really like to check out one of those LC PDS expanders.  I wonder how practical a breakout to a separate case would be, for the AIO cases where the tophat formfactor is less applicable.  They made PCI expander chassis', which is higher speed than LC PDS, so...  maybe?

Offline

#149 2016-01-18 06:57:26

LCGuy
Administrator
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2014-05-13
Posts: 855

Re: LCGuy's money pit *ahem* collection

got feets?™

n1mmGxW.jpg

Offline

#150 2016-01-19 03:34:10

jt
Member
From: Bermuda Triangle, NC USA
Registered: 2014-05-21
Posts: 1,470

Re: LCGuy's money pit *ahem* collection

Sweets!

Offline

Board footer

About ThinkClassic

ThinkClassic specialises in the use, maintenance, repair, restoration and modification of vintage computers and peripherals.